Tuesday, April 06, 2021

Waiting to Read Wednesday: 04/07/2021 Arsenic and Adobo /The Bookshop of Second Chances / No One Can Pronounce My Name


The New
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by the marvelous Tressa at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss upcoming release we are excited about that we have yet to read.

Arsenic and Adobo
(Tita Rosie's Kitchen Mystery #1) by Mia P. Manansala
Release Date: May 4, 2021 by Berkley
When Lila Macapagal moves back home to recover from a horrible breakup, her life seems to be following all the typical rom-com tropes. She’s tasked with saving her Tita Rosie’s failing restaurant and has to deal with a group of matchmaking aunties who shower her with love and judgment. But when a notoriously nasty food critic (who happens to be her ex-boyfriend) drops dead moments after a confrontation with Lila, her life quickly swerves from a Jennifer Crusie romp to an Agatha Christie joint.

With the cops treating her like she’s the one and only suspect, and the shady landlord looking to finally kick the Macapagal family out and resell the storefront, Lila’s left with no choice but to conduct her own investigation. Armed with the nosy auntie network, her barista best bud, and her trusted Dachshund, Longanisa, Lila takes on this tasty, twisted case. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read this: I have been seeing this one pop up around the blogosphere and was instantly drawn in by the synopsis So, of course it is on my wish list! [I often prep my Waiting to Read posts ahead of time, and, after adding this title to my wish list, I requested it from NetGalley, was approved (yay!), and have read it. My review will come out closer to the publication date--but I highly recommend it!.


The Bookshop of Second Chances
by Jackie Fraser
Release Date: May 4, 2021 by Ballantine (first published in UK in 2020)
A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly handsome bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

Thea Mottram is having a bad month. Her husband of nearly twenty years has just left her for one of her friends, and she is let go from her office job--on Valentine's Day, of all days. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and shaggy, tulip-covered lawn. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's antique novel collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't felt in a long time. As she follows a thrilling yet terrifying impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from.
[Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read this: I love a Scottish setting, and one that involves a books and possibly a bookstore make this one too bad to pass up.


Does either of these books interest you? What upcoming releases are you looking forward to reading?


The Old(er) 
I have an embarrassing number of unread books sitting on the shelves in my personal library. Carole of Carole's Random Life in Books has given me the perfect excuse to spotlight and discuss those neglected books in her Books from the Backlog feature. After all, even those older books need a bit of love! Not to mention it is reminding me what great books I have waiting for me under my own roof still to read!

No One Can Pronounce My Name
by Rakesh Satyal 
(Picador, 2017)
In a suburb outside Cleveland, a community of Indian Americans has settled into lives that straddle the divide between Eastern and Western cultures. For some, America is a bewildering and alienating place where coworkers can’t pronounce your name but will eagerly repeat the Sanskrit phrases from their yoga class. Harit, a lonely Indian immigrant in his midforties, lives with his mother who can no longer function after the death of Harit’s sister, Swati. In a misguided attempt to keep both himself and his mother sane, Harit has taken to dressing up in a sari every night to pass himself off as his sister. Meanwhile, Ranjana, also an Indian immigrant in her midforties, has just seen her only child, Prashant, off to college. Worried that her husband has begun an affair, she seeks solace by writing paranormal romances in secret. When Harit and Ranjana’s paths cross, they begin a strange yet necessary friendship that brings to light their own passions and fears.

Reminiscent of Angela Flournoy’s
The Turner House, Ayad Akhtar’s American Dervish, and Jade Chang’s The Wangs vs. the World, No One Can Pronounce My Name is a distinctive, funny, and insightful look into the lives of people who must reconcile the strictures of their culture and traditions with their own dreams and desires. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read this: I received this in a lit box I subscribed to a few years ago that featured authors of color. They've since gone out of business, but I enjoyed getting a box each month and finding out what goodies and books I would receive. This was one of those books. I still really want to read and hope I can make time for it soon.


Have you read No One Can Pronounce My Name ? Does this book sound like something you would like to read? 

© 2021, Musings of a Bookish Kitty. All Rights Reserved. If you're reading this on a site other than Musings of a Bookish Kitty or Wendy's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

19 comments:

  1. I always look twice at books with "bookshop" in the title. I hope it turns out to be a lovely read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Arsenic and Adobo has been on my TBR for ages and I can't wait for it!! No one can pronounce my name sounds so good -- and definitely a unique premise.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Bookshop of Second Chances sounds really good! I love books set in Scotland as well:-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Both books you can't wait for sound really good. I'm not one for mysteries but this one sounds to good to pass up. Here is my post- https://paigesofbook.blogspot.com/2021/04/cant-wait-wednesday-chance-to-fly-by.html.

    ReplyDelete
  5. The dog on the cover of Arsenic and Adobo is ADORABLE!

    ReplyDelete
  6. All three of your books sound delightful - but if I had to pick just one, I think it would be Arsenic and Adobo. That aunt network sounds adorable...

    ReplyDelete
  7. The blurb of Arsenic and Adobo is good - I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I've been disappointed with book boxes before, I tend to stick to the same few genres (and specific sub-genres) and authors.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Bookshop of Second Chances is one I really want to read! It looks like a lot of fun. Plus, it's about a bookshop in Scotland...how can you go wrong?

    ReplyDelete
  9. i love books that take place in bookstores. hope you enjoy them both
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  10. That's awesome that you got the Arsenic & Adobo book. Can't wait to read your review as it does sound like fun. And, I've had the No One can Pronounce My Name book on my wishlist for a while. I had to add it for the title alone as someone who often has to deal with people not knowing how to say my name! haha...

    ReplyDelete
  11. These all sound good and I hope you enjoy them all.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm really hoping to get my hands on Arsenic and Adobo. I've heard good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have Arsenic and Adobo to review and it looks so good. I'm looking forward to it.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I read the bookshop one and loved it. I love those Scottish, Irish settings myself. The Satyal book sounds very intriguing. I'm always interested in immigrant stories as they are very convoluted, crossing a divide and not easy for some, very easy for others. The hankering and not letting go of a culture and trying to preserve it all, and not embracing the best that the new has to offer often hinders any progress either way.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'm excited for Arsenic and Adobo and am glad to hear that you recommend it. I'll be on the lookout for your review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Bookish titles or themes always appeal to me. The other two books look interesting, too.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Both No One Can Pronounce My Name & Arsenic and Adobo are at the top of my list to read soon. I like the sound of both books and glad to hear that you recommend Arsenic and Adobo!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Arsenic and Adobo was already on my wish list. Glad to hear you liked it. I love books with bookstores in them too. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to visit Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Don't be shy! I would love to hear from you. Due to a recent increase in spam, I will be moderating all comments for the foreseeable future. Please be patient with me as it may take a few hours before I am able to approve your comment.