Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Waiting to Read Wednesday: Witches Steeped in Gold / Hour of the Witch / The Witches of New York


The New
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by the marvelous Tressa at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss upcoming release we are excited about that we have yet to read.


Witches Steeped in Gold
(#1) by Ciannon Smart
Release Date: April 20, 2021 by HarperTeen
This Jamaican-inspired fantasy debut about two enemy witches who must enter into a deadly alliance to take down a common enemy has the twisted cat-and-mouse of Killing Eve with the richly imagined fantasy world of Furyborn and Ember in the Ashes.

Divided by their order. United by their vengeance.

Iraya has spent her life in a cell, but every day brings her closer to freedom - and vengeance.

Jazmyne is the Queen’s daughter, but unlike her sister before her, she has no intention of dying to strengthen her mother’s power.

Sworn enemies, these two witches enter a precarious alliance to take down a mutual threat. But power is intoxicating, revenge is a bloody pursuit, and nothing is certain - except the lengths they will go to win this game. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read this: Sworn enemies coming together to take down a common enemy is a very appealing story line. Not to mention this novel involves witches.  Witches!!!


Hour of the Witch
by Chris Bohjalian

Release Date: April 20, 2021 by Doubleday Books
A young Puritan woman--faithful, resourceful, but afraid of the demons that dog her soul--plots her escape from a violent marriage in this riveting and propulsive novel of historical suspense from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant.

Boston, 1662. Mary Deerfield is twenty-four-years-old. Her skin is porcelain, her eyes delft blue, and in England she might have had many suitors. But here in the New World, amid this community of saints, Mary is the second wife of Thomas Deerfield, a man as cruel as he is powerful. When Thomas, prone to drunken rage, drives a three-tined fork into the back of Mary's hand, she resolves that she must divorce him to save her life. But in a world where every neighbor is watching for signs of the devil, a woman like Mary--a woman who harbors secret desires and finds it difficult to tolerate the brazen hypocrisy of so many men in the colony--soon becomes herself the object of suspicion and rumor. When tainted objects are discovered buried in Mary's garden, when a boy she has treated with herbs and simples dies, and when their servant girl runs screaming in fright from her home, Mary must fight to not only escape her marriage, but also the gallows. A twisting, tightly plotted novel of historical suspense from one of our greatest storytellers,
Hour of the Witch is a timely and terrifying story of socially sanctioned brutality and the original American witch hunt. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read these: There is another side of witch-themed novels that appeals to me too, that involving the history of those accused of being witches. I have enjoyed Chris Bohjalian's work before and look forward to reading this one. 


Does either of these books interest you? What upcoming releases are you looking forward to reading?


The Old(er) 
I have an embarrassing number of unread books sitting on the shelves in my personal library. Carole of Carole's Random Life in Books has given me the perfect excuse to spotlight and discuss those neglected books in her Books from the Backlog feature. After all, even those older books need a bit of love! Not to mention it is reminding me what great books I have waiting for me under my own roof still to read!

The Witches of New York
by Ami McKay
(Harper Perennial, 2016)
In the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, comes a new novel from historical fiction maven Ami McKay that transports readers to the heart of Victorian New York, where three witches practice their craft—to the delight of some—but at their own peril.

Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply.

New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums.

Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn.

When seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer an ad that reads "Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply," she has little inclination of what the job will demand of her. Beatrice doesn't know it yet, but she is no ordinary small-town girl; she has great spiritual gifts—ones that will serve as her greatest asset and also place her in grave danger. Under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice comes to harness many of her powers, but not even they can prepare her for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or the courage it will take to face them.
Why I want to read this: Another witch book, you ask? Why, yes! I figured I would stick to the theme. This lovely book has been languishing on my TBR shelf since 2018. So, not as long as many other books on my shelf, but still too long. A mix of history and magic, it's no wonder I was drawn to this book in the first place. I also have been wanting to read Ami McKay's work for some time now. I heard that one of the characters in this book is also featured in another of McKay's novels, The Virgin Cure--something I only recently learned and now want to get my hands on. 


Have you read The Witches of New York? Does this book sound like something you would like to read? 


© 2021, Musings of a Bookish Kitty. All Rights Reserved. If you're reading this on a site other than Musings of a Bookish Kitty or Wendy's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

38 comments:

  1. This sounds really good, I'm very curious about this one!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hour of the Witch sounds amazing!! I hope you enjoy it!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eustacia - I think so too! I hope it will be good. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  3. What a lovely witchy theme this week:)). I found all of these tempting - but I think if I had to choose it would be that last book... I hope you get to enjoy at least one of these desirable reads, Wendy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sarah - It was unintentional at first, but I couldn't help but pick a backlog book about witches too. :-) Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  4. I'm eager to hear which witch book you choose and what you think!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jenclair - They all sound so good! Thank you for stopping by. :-)

      Delete
  5. I love your witch theme! I'm actually very curious about both of those books, especially Witches Steeped in Gold.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tammy - I love that cover. I am really looking forward to reading it. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  6. Great witch theme with these three! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Love the witch theme xD There aren't enough really good witch books in my opinion lol! We could always use more!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Penelope - There are never enough witch books. :-) Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  8. Great theme this week! I love the looks of Witches of New York. I have to add that to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yvonne - I hope I can find time to read it soon. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  9. I love witchy reads so all three of these sound absolutely fabulous to me. I hope you enjoy them all. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Suzanne - I cannot resist witch-related novels! Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  10. Fun witch theme this week! I love the sound Witches Steeped in Gold. It's always interesting reading about sworn enemies having to work together.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Love your theme! The first one is on my TBR as well. Thanks for visiting my Wednesday post yesterday at Lisa Loves Literature!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lisa - I hope we both enjoy Witches Steeped in Gold when we read it. Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  12. i love witches and magic and those are some cool covers. hope they are all good ones
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sherry - I really like the covers too. :-) Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  13. I plan on reading the Chris Bohjalian book in April as well. Love his novels. Enjoy Wendy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Diane - I hope you like Bohjalian's book! Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  14. All of them sound pretty good. Love how they come at witchcraft from different directions.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sophia Rose - There are so many great stories that can be told involving witches, aren't there? Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  15. I'm not into witches but I am glad you are enjoying them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Mystica - Hopefully they will be good! Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  16. Lots of witches this week! Witches Steeped in Gold sounds amazing and I have a copy of The Witches of New York just waiting on my Kindle for some attention. I hope that you enjoy all of these when you get the chance to read them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Carole - I all things witch-y. :-) Hopefully we will both enjoy The Witches of New York when we read it! Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  17. I haven't heard of Witches Steeped in Gold but I would certainly pick that one up to read - love the sound of that book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Athira - Me too! I hope we will both get a chance to read it. Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  18. I love witch books too! Thanks for sharing these. I didn't have them my TBR yet. Happy Reading! Hope you have a good week!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I'm always intrigued by books with a witch theme. More books to explore!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to visit Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Don't be shy! I would love to hear from you. Due to a recent increase in spam, I will be moderating all comments for the foreseeable future. Please be patient with me as it may take a few hours before I am able to approve your comment.