Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Wishing for Wednesday: The Storm King and Sunburn



Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings to 
spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. 

These two new titles caught my eye recently and I could not help but add that to my wish list.


The Storm King by Brendan Duffy (400 pgs)
Release Date: February 6, 2018 by Ballantine Books
Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.

Burying the past only gives it strength—and fury.

Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he’s become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father.

Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.

This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake’s sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion.

As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate’s own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming—one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all. [Goodreads Summary]

Why I want to read it: Lately, I seem to be drawn to covers with water dripping down--the rain effect, I call it. That was what first caught my eye when I saw this one. Then I was drawn to the story itself--a haunting past that will no longer stay hidden.

*

Sunburn by Lisa Lippman (304 pgs)
Release Date: February 20, 2018 by William Morrow
New York Times bestselling author Laura Lippman returns with a superb novel of psychological suspense about a pair of lovers with the best intentions and the worst luck: two people locked in a passionate yet uncompromising game of cat and mouse. But instead of rules, this game has dark secrets, forbidden desires, inevitable betrayals—and cold-blooded murder. 
One is playing a long game. But which one? 
They meet at a local tavern in the small town of Belleville, Delaware. Polly is set on heading west. Adam says he’s also passing through. Yet she stays and he stays—drawn to this mysterious redhead whose quiet stillness both unnerves and excites him. Over the course of a punishing summer, Polly and Adam abandon themselves to a steamy, inexorable affair. Still, each holds something back from the other—dangerous, even lethal, secrets. 
Then someone dies. Was it an accident, or part of a plan? By now, Adam and Polly are so ensnared in each other’s lives and lies that neither one knows how to get away—or even if they want to. Is their love strong enough to withstand the truth, or will it ultimately destroy them? 
Something—or someone—has to give. 
Which one will it be? [Goodreads Summary]

Why I want to read it: I have enjoyed Laura Lippman's work in the past and will pick up just about any book she's written just because it has her name on it. This one sounds a bit different than her other books, but I don't think I will be able to resist it.


Do either of these sound like something you would like to read too?


© 2018, Musings of a Bookish Kitty. All Rights Reserved. If you're reading this on a site other than Musings of a Bookish Kitty or Wendy's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

40 comments:

  1. Yessss to The Storm King! Am waiting for that one myself. I think I’ve read Laura Lippman before and liked her, but am not entirely sure if i’ll Read this one...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Verushka - I hear this Laura Lippman novel is a bit different than her usual books, so we'll see. I hope we both enjoy The Storm King!

      Delete
  2. Haunted pasts are good, and I love those rainy type covers too! Ha ha. This one seriously sounds good though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Greg - Doesn't it?! I am so excited about The Storm King.

      Delete
  3. The Storm King sounds intriguing. And I hope you enjoy reading Sunburn. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow! Both of these books sound awesome! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ronyell - I hope they are as good as they sound. :-)

      Delete
  5. Sunburn sounds like a very intense book! Hope you get the chance to read it(:

    ReplyDelete
  6. I already have The Storm King on my list. Thought the story sounded really good. I'm a little on the fence with the Lippman book. The main character is sounding a bit like The Girl on the Train and I got so frustrated with her self-destructive ways. I may wait on that one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kay - It sounds like it will be good, doesn't it? I hope we both love it.

      Delete
  7. The Storm King sounds fantastic. I'm drawn to covers that feature water as well, but that blurb has really grabbed my attention - dark secrets from the past and an unsolved mystery? Yes please!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Suzanne - I think so too! I hope it meets expectations!

      Delete
  8. I love the cover of The Storm King. And the story looks to be equally intriguing. Also love the sound of Sunburn. Can't-Wait Wednesday always makes me just add more and more books to my TBR. Sigh :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Stephanie - I do too. It definitely makes me want to take a closer look. My wish list is overflowing thanks to Can't Wait Wednesday.

      Delete
  9. Both are new to me and sound pretty interesting, especially Sunburn! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Wow, I think I want to add both of these to my wishlist. Thanks for the head's up. I've not seen either before.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I liked The Storm King--it is an uncomfortable book as the young version of the characters do things that you know are going to cause problems. Adolescent brains and all that....

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jenclair - I can imagine! I am glad you liked it.

      Delete
  12. That cover of The Storm King is awesome - I also like the sound of the premise. Trouble is, I don't think my teetering TBR can cope... Thank you for sharing this:). My Can't-Wait offering this week - https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2018/01/31/cant-wait-wednesday-31st-january-2018/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sarah - I know what you mean. I have too many TBR books as well. :-) Not that I am complaining.

      Delete
  13. These both sound really good! I especially like The Storm King! Great finds!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jenea - Thank you! I am looking forward to reading them.

      Delete
  14. I am really looking forward to reading Sunburn as well! Actually, both of these books sound pretty great Wendy :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Both of these look like great thrillers! I'm especially curious about The Storm King. I like the water dripping covers too.

    ReplyDelete
  16. The Storm King has a rather haunting cover doesn't it? I love how it sounds. It isn't my usual type of read but it does sound very compelling so maybe I'll give it a try when it comes out. I hope you love both of these when they get released!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kimberly - It makes me want to read it even more. :-) Thank you!

      Delete
  17. Great picks. I'm not familiar with either. I lean more towards The Storm King. Hope you enjoy them when you get them!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I read Melody's review of the Lippman book recently and that one is totally on my TBR list. The Storm King sounds very interesting too. So many good books to look forward to right?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Iliana - Too many good sounding books! I want to read so many of them! Haha

      Delete
  19. How interesting that you've chosen two books with titles referring to the weather, Wendy! And they're opposites, to boot! Lol. One title references a storm (and I now know that yes, hurricanes CAN reach that far up the Eastern coast), while the other references sunny weather. LOVE that contrast!

    Even though I do love the cover of "The Storm King", it's "Sunburn" that I'm interested in. Why? Because there's romance and passion, of course! I want these two characters to have their happy ending!! Yes, after all the lies and secrets, plus all the other mayhem, I WANT them to be together FOREVER!!! Sigh....can't help it...I'm a hopeless romantic...lol. So I'm ALL GUNG-HO for this one!!

    Thanks for featuring both books, though, and I hope you enjoy both!! :) :)

    Thanks as well for commenting on my own CWW post!! HUGS TO YOU AND MOUSE!!! Enjoy your weekend!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Maria - I thought it was a nice symmetry, although unintentional. :-) I have heard good things about both and am anxious to read them. Have a great weekend yourself!

      Delete
  20. I have a copy of The Storm King that I hope to start reading soon. I haven't read Lippman yet but do plan to at some point. I hope you enjoy both of these!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to visit Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Don't be shy! I would love to hear from you. Due to a recent increase in spam, I will be moderating all comments for the foreseeable future. Please be patient with me as it may take a few hours before I am able to approve your comment.