Tuesday, February 07, 2023

Can't Wait to Read Wednesday: The Shadow of Perseus / Ana Takes Manhattan / The Radium Girls


The New
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by the marvelous Tressa at Wishful Endings to spotlight upcoming release we are excited about that we have yet to read.

I can't get enough of these Greek retellings. 

The Shadow of Perseus
by Claire Heywood
(Dutton; February 21, 2023)
Nationally bestselling author of Daughters of Sparta Claire Heywood returns with an imaginative and female-centered reinterpretation of the myth of the great hero Perseus, told through the voices of three women who are sidelined in the traditional version—his mother, Danae; his trophy, Medusa; and his wife, Andromeda—but whose viewpoints reveal a man who is not, in fact, a hero at all.

Danae: Banished from her homeland thanks to a prophecy foretelling that her unborn child will one day cause the death of her father, the king of Argos, Danae finds herself stranded, pregnant, and alone in a remote fishing village. It’s a harsh new world for a young woman who grew up as a coddled princess, and forging a new life for herself and for her young son Perseus will be the hardest thing she’s ever done.

Medusa: As a member of a reclusive band of women who live deep in the woods, known as the Gorgons, Medusa has eschewed all contact with the outside world. That is, until the day she finds an injured boy named Perseus in the forest.

Andromeda: When a harsh sandstorm threatens to destroy her nomadic desert tribe’s way of life, Andromeda knows that a sacrifice will be required to appease the gods and end the storm. But when a forceful young Perseus interferes, Andromeda’s life is set on an entirely new path.

As Perseus becomes increasingly obsessed with the promise of his own destiny, his heroic journey casts a shadow of violence and destruction across all three women’s lives. But even as he tries to silence them, the women may find that reclaiming their voices is their only hope for lifting themselves into a better future. [Goodreads Summary]
I may not be much of a reality TV watcher, but I do enjoy novels featuring that type of venue. This one sounds like it will be a fun one.

Ana Takes Manhattan
 by Lissette Decos
(Forever; February 28, 2023)  
Fans of Abby Jimenez and Alexis Daria will love this novel about one New York City woman skilled in producing swoon‑worthy reality TV shows but whose own life is a mess, with nothing ever going according to plan.

Ana Karina loves her job—though she isn't quite where she thought she'd be by now. As reality tv producer, she orchestrates extravagant marriage proposals that always (read: mostly) go as planned. If they don't, she’s not afraid to cut and paste scenes to perfection afterward. Even if her arrogant film editor isn't a fan. But what does he know about romance anyway?

If only Ana's love life was as simple as fixing botched engagements. She's sick and tired of guys who give her the ick. Open‑toed sandals? Gross. Mr. Casual. No, thanks. Barcode tattoo? Cut! Ana's got a mile‑long list of all the cringey things to steer clear of. And Ana loves lists. Her to‑dos for her best friend's wedding, show ideas to pitch, and even her list of what she does want in Mr. Right. With only four requirements, why is it taking so long to find him?

She refuses to put her life on hold waiting. She’ll just date four men who each embody one quality. Never mind them lacking in other departments. Yet as she finds the Prince Charming in every frog, she also gets closer to facing who she’s avoided for years. Herself.
 [Goodreads Summary]

Do either of these books interest you? What upcoming releases are you looking forward to reading?


The Old(er) 
Carole of Carole's Random Life in Books has given me the perfect excuse to spotlight those unread books on my TBR in her Books from the Backlog feature, reminding me what great books I have waiting for me under my own roof still to read!


I get excited when I come across a book about roles women played in history, and this one caught my attention. My penchant for picking fiction over nonfiction though means a lot of these types of books on my shelves end up sitting unread for awhile, sadly. I have had this one on my TBR shelf since 2017. 

The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women
by Kate Moore
(Sourcebooks, 2017)
The incredible true story of the women who fought America's Undark danger

The Curies' newly discovered element of radium makes gleaming headlines across the nation as the fresh face of beauty, and wonder drug of the medical community. From body lotion to tonic water, the popular new element shines bright in the otherwise dark years of the First World War.

Meanwhile, hundreds of girls toil amidst the glowing dust of the radium-dial factories. The glittering chemical covers their bodies from head to toe; they light up the night like industrious fireflies. With such a coveted job, these "shining girls" are the luckiest alive — until they begin to fall mysteriously ill.

But the factories that once offered golden opportunities are now ignoring all claims of the gruesome side effects, and the women's cries of corruption. And as the fatal poison of the radium takes hold, the brave shining girls find themselves embroiled in one of the biggest scandals of America's early 20th century, and in a groundbreaking battle for workers' rights that will echo for centuries to come.

Written with a sparkling voice and breakneck pace, The Radium Girls fully illuminates the inspiring young women exposed to the "wonder" substance of radium, and their awe-inspiring strength in the face of almost impossible circumstances. Their courage and tenacity led to life-changing regulations, research into nuclear bombing, and ultimately saved hundreds of thousands of lives...  [Goodreads Summary]

Have you read Radium Girls?  Does this book sound like something you would like to read? 


© 2023, Musings of a Bookish Kitty. All Rights Reserved. If you're reading this on a site other than Musings of a Bookish Kitty or Wendy's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

16 comments:

  1. The Radium Girls has been on my TBR list for awhile now; it does sound like a very interesting read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lark - I hope I can pick it up this year and finally read it. Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  2. My book group read Radium Girls, but I wasn't going to be at the meeting, so I didn't get around to reading it. It's still on my shelf! I've heard nothing but great things about it, so I'm sure I'll read it eventually.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Les - I have heard good things about it too. Hopefully I can get to it sooner than later, but I make no promises. :-) Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  3. I'll be reading Ana Takes Manhattan this week or next too. I hope we both enjoy it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wendy - I look forward to reading your thoughts on it! Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  4. Ana Takes Manhattan sounds like an entertaining read. I've had The Radium Girls sitting on my TBR forever too. One of these days I'm going to read it, lol.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Suzanne - I hope Ana Takes Manhattan will be! I am glad I am not the only one who hasn't yet read The Radium Girls. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  5. Ana Takes Manhattan is one I’d like to read. I hope that you enjoy these books when you get the chance to read them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jodie - I hope we both get a chance to read it! Thank you for visiting!

      Delete
  6. You have such an eclectic group of books here, I love that! I get in a rut and read the same types of books. That first one that retells the mythical story looks very unique and interesting. Great CWW post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Shellie - Thank you! I like to mix up my reading so I don't get tired of reading any one type of book. I've been known to burn out on genres for awhile. And I really do like a lot of different types of books. I want to read everything! Almost, anyway. :-) Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  7. The Radium Girls has been on my TBR for a while now too. Seeing you list it here makes me want to move it up on my list. Thanks for sharing! Happy reading! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. All these books sound fabulous - but right now The Shadow of Perseus is my favourite! I love the sound of this as retellings of Greek myths are always go-to reads. That you for sharing, Wendy:).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sarah - Does it sound good? I really want to read that one! Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete

Thank you for taking the time to visit Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Don't be shy! I would love to hear from you. Due to a recent increase in spam, I will be moderating all comments for the foreseeable future. Please be patient with me as it may take a few hours before I am able to approve your comment.