Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Waiting to Read Wednesday: The Fifth Season, Milady, We Went To the Woods, & Iron Will



The Old(er) 
I have an embarrassing number of unread books sitting on the shelves in my personal library. Carole of Carole's Random Life in Books has given me the perfect excuse to spotlight and discuss those neglected books in her Books from the Backlog feature. After all, even those older books need a bit of love! Not to mention it is reminding me what great books I have waiting for me under my own roof still to read!


The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) by N.K. Jemisin (2015)
Three terrible things happen in a single day. Essun, masquerading as an ordinary schoolteacher in a quiet small town, comes home to find that her husband has brutally murdered their son and kidnapped their daughter. Mighty Sanze, the empire whose innovations have been civilization's bedrock for a thousand years, collapses as its greatest city is destroyed by a madman's vengeance. And worst of all, across the heartland of the world's sole continent, a great red rift has been been torn which spews ash enough to darken the sky for years. Or centuries. But this is the Stillness, a land long familiar with struggle, and where orogenes -- those who wield the power of the earth as a weapon -- are feared far more than the long cold night. Essun has remembered herself, and she will have her daughter back. She does not care if the world falls apart around her. Essun will break it herself, if she must, to save her daughter. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read it: This series comes highly recommended and I have had this and a couple of the author's earlier books on my TBR shelf for awhile. 


Have you read this one? If not, does it sound like something you would read?

*

The New
Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by the marvelous Tressa at Wishful Endings to spotlight and discuss upcoming release we are excited about that we have yet to read.


Milady by Laura L. Sullivan
Release Date: July 2, 2019
She was the greatest nemesis of d'Artagnan and the Three Musketeers--but Milady de Winter was so much more than just a villain in their swashbuckling adventures.

I've gone by many names though you know me as Milady de Winter: Villainess, seductress, a secondary player in The Three Musketeers story.

But we all know history was written by men, and they so often get things wrong.

So before you cast judgment, let me tell you of how a girl from the countryside became the most feared woman in all of Europe. A target for antipathy, a name whispered in fear or loathing.

I don't need you to like me. I just need to be free.

It's finally time I tell my own story. The truth isn't tidy or convenient, but it's certainly more interesting.  [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read it: I suppose I should get around to reading The Three Musketeers first, but I have to say this is much more appealing! 


We Went to the Woods by Caite Dolan-Leache
Release Date: July 2, 2019
They went off the grid. Their secrets didn't. For readers of The Secret History and The Immortalists comes a novel about the allure--and dangers--of disconnecting.

Certain that society is on the verge of economic and environmental collapse, five disillusioned twenty-somethings make a bold decision: They gather in upstate New York to transform an abandoned farm, once the site of a turn-of-the-century socialist commune, into an idyllic self-sustaining compound called the Homestead.

Louisa spearheads the project, as her wealthy family owns the plot of land. Beau is the second to commit; as mysterious and sexy as he is charismatic, he torments Louisa with his nightly disappearances and his other relationships. Chloe, a dreamy musician, is naturally able to attract anyone to her--which inevitably results in conflict. Jack, the most sensible and cerebral of the group, is the only one with any practical farm experience. Mack, the last to join, believes it's her calling to write their story--but she is not the most objective narrator, and inevitably complicates their increasingly tangled narrative. Initially exhilarated by restoring the rustic dwellings, planting a garden, and learning the secrets of fermentation, the group is soon divided by slights, intense romantic and sexual relationships, jealousies, and suspicions. And as winter settles in, their experiment begins to feel not only misguided, but deeply isolating and dangerous.

Caite Dolan-Leach spins a poignant and deeply human tale with sharp insights into our modern anxieties, our collective failures, and the timeless desire to withdraw from the world. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read it: This is a bit different than my usual reads, but something about it calls to me. 


Iron Will by B.J. Daniels
Release Date: July 16, 2019
Are a dead woman’s secrets

enough to kill for…?

Hank Savage has always believed his old girlfriend was murdered. Now he’s come home to Cardwell Ranch and, with the help of PI Frankie Brewster, is determined to find the killer. Trying to keep their feelings at bay, Hank and Frankie quickly learn that every lead reveals a life steeped in secrets—and danger. And that someone from Hank’s past will do anything to keep the truth from being revealed. [Goodreads Summary]
Why I want to read it: This sounds like it will be a fun romantic suspense novel. I like that the P.I. in this one is a woman. 


Do any of these sound like something you would like to read? What upcoming releases are you looking forward to reading? 


© 2019, Musings of a Bookish Kitty. All Rights Reserved. If you're reading this on a site other than Musings of a Bookish Kitty or Wendy's feed, be aware that this post has been stolen and is used without permission.

17 comments:

  1. Such a great way to remind ourselves of the books we have yet to read. Thank you for sharing some of those awaiting you.

    ReplyDelete
  2. These all sound like really great reads! I feel myself being drawn more to The Fifth Season and Milady. :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. I think We Went To The Woods looks interesting. The book I'm reading now, The Power, is certainly different. It's a book club selection and I'm going to be curious what the others think about it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I tried a Jemisin book and it wasn't for me. The cover of Milady is intriguing.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I liked The Fifth Season--may be science fiction, but some of the same problems we face today.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've seen a lot of people love The Fifth Season and the rest of the series. We Went to the Woods looks really interesting as well.

    ReplyDelete
  7. We Went the the Woods intrigues me.

    ReplyDelete
  8. These are all new to me though I've heard of The Fifth Season and I really enjoy BJ Daniels' books. I'm so in a muddle right now I'm having trouble keeping up with new releases but I know there are bunches I'm looking forward to reading!

    ReplyDelete
  9. The book I've chosen today is an older one. I do like the look of the Tifth Season, event though it's the first in the series lol Sounds like an oxymoron!

    Happy Hump Day! Here's my Wednesday post. I pinned 'em!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The second book sounds amazing!!! I've never read The Three Musketeers but I want to read that novel. Here is my post https://paigesofbook.blogspot.com/2019/06/cant-wait-wednesday-wayward-son.html

    ReplyDelete
  11. I've been curious about NK Jemisin's stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  12. The Fifth Season sounds like quite the page turner. I love suspenseful and thrilling reads! Iron Will sounds good too! I enjoy romantic suspense! Awesome WOWQ picks!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow! All of these books sound interesting! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  14. Love the cover for this one! I hope you enjoy it.

    ReplyDelete
  15. These books all look good and pretty cover on Milady. Happy reading Wendy!

    ReplyDelete
  16. LOL- you certainly are eclectic :) What a diverse group of books. I've skirted around Jemisin's books, thinking they might be too intense for me, but IDK. I think of all you listed I would want to read We Went to the Woods. It's going on my wishlist right now.

    ReplyDelete
  17. The Fifth Season contains many elements which are brought together skilfully by Ms Jemisin. I love it!!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to visit Musings of a Bookish Kitty. Don't be shy! I would love to hear from you. Due to a recent increase in spam, I will be moderating all comments for the foreseeable future. Please be patient with me as it may take a few hours before I am able to approve your comment.